An After-Christmas Update

January 3, 2008 at 11:27 am (Uncategorized)

I decided to do all knitted presents this year (with the exception of my SO who needed more pairs of socks than I could knit in the time frame…but he’s eventually getting a small afghan, so that’s better, right?)

My mom got a felted purse, which I hand-dyed the colors for. I can’d find blue kool-aid here, so she got red/yellow/orange. I was hoping it would look like the sunset and be something she takes with her to Hawaii… I’m not completely satisfied with how the handles turned out (I’ll make them thicker if I do it again), but otherwise it was a really quick knit–I pretty much got it done Christmas Eve and a little Christmas morning.

My dad got the thingies that you put by the keyboard and mouse to help hold your wrists at the proper place. He had no idea what they were when he opened the package! LOL, but I think he likes them. They’re in the computer room at least. And, he doesn’t know it, but I’m working on a tie for him.

My brother is getting a scarf. Yes, is getting. He’s seen it halfway done and likes it, but I way underestimated the time it would take to make it (my first stranding project, yay!). It’s gonna be so cool when it’s done! He’s gonna be a cop, right? So what better gift from his dear sister than a scarf made to look like crime scene tape? Don’t answer. I liked the idea!

Right now I’m working on my spiral socks that I started before the Christmas knitting. And I’m almost to the toe of the first one. Yay! Then to do the January socks, and then find some nice sock yarn to make my SO a pair of socks. He said he doesn’t see the point in knitting socks, then in the same breath said it was cool that I knit and that he liked how mine were turning out… ? So, I’m not sure where he stands on the knitted socks thing, but I figure if I make him a pair and he hates them, well, I’ll just make them for me! Though if he loves them I may be in for a lot of sock knitting… 🙂

Okay, that’s my little update. More later! (And possibly another free pattern, a scarf that looks like candle flames….gotta get back home and find the book with the stitch pattern though…)

Happy knitting!

Kim

ETA Sorry, pics aren’t working.  😦  Gonna have to work on that!

Leave a Reply

