My Princess Has Shoes!

December 14, 2007 at 12:27 am (Free Patterns)

I was reading about a poor freezing puppy, and remembered that I was wanting to knit a pair (pairs?) of shoes for my puppy. She’s not cold, but she does make a lot of noise on our wood floor! **grin** So, here’s my first attempt at the pattern:

WARNING: This has NOT been test knit. If you knit it, please let me know if you come across any problems.

Princess’s Shoes

Mine was knitted with LionBrand Wool (worsted weight), Hand-Dyed to my puppy’s favorite color.   I used size 3ndls, but you don’t usually have to go that far in size to get a tight fabric–they were the only size I had free!

Written for knitting in the round, but can work for DPNs, two circs, or MLing.  I used DPNs because that’s what I have and prefer, but feel free to use another circular knitting method of your choice!

Before You Begin: Make sure you have ribbon or an I-Cord for each of the “shoes”

While this can be knit for any dog, the directions I will be using are for a medium size dog, with a

foot measurement of 4.25″. To knit for a larger or smaller dog do the following:
1)Measure the widest part of the dog’s foot (the ball of the foot, basically).
2)Knit a gauge swatch in the yarn and needles you want to use. (Use a needle a couple of sizes smaller than you usually would to create a tight fabric to help prevent nails sticking through).
3)Determine your gauge, and multiply the gauge per inch by the inches around the dog’s foot is.
4)Fudge a little to get a number divisible by 4.
5)Cast on this number of sts, and join in the round.

For mine, I did the following calculations:
1)She’s about 4.25
2)My gauge was 30 sts/4in in st st
3)See above, divided to get sts/in which was 7.5, multiplied 7.5 by 4.25 to get 31.875.
4) CO 32 sts

K 3 rnds in 2×2 rib.
Rnd 4: K
Rnd 5: *K4, YO*, rep to last 4sts, K4
Rnd 6: K to first YO, K the YO, then K2tog. Repeat K2tog after each YO. (Back to CO # of sts)

K until about 3/4″ from desired length.
Begin decrease pattern by decreasing every other round, 3 times each round (if using 4 DPNs,

decrease by SSK the second and third sts on each needle).
Decrease until half the # of CO sts are left (may have to add extra decrease in last decrease round).
Kitchener together.

Try on for fit, if all is well, trim off ends and try on. Thread ribbon or I-Cord through the

eyelets at top and tie on!

Please send me an email at onegreenjellybean (AT) gmail (DOT) com if you have any questions, or PM

me on Ravelry (FlaKnitter). Enjoy!!

Permalink Leave a Comment